How Are We Doing?

How are we doing? We want to know that we’re not only meeting your expectations as a dealership, but going above and beyond. To us, our customers are like family, and we want to make sure that you feel that way each time you visit our lot. We strive to make sure that every person feels right at home here at Phillips Auto, so you can bet we do our best to provide the best service and care.

Here at Phillips Auto, we love hearing from you! Take a look at some of the great things our customers have said about their experience with our staff and vehicles. If you like what you see from our other customers, we encourage you to stop by and give us a try yourself! Have an experience of your own that you’d like to share? We want to hear it!

Customer Lobby
Sort by: Latest review first / Highest rating first
HAROLD WEBBER 03 Sep 2016
I wouldn't normally comment about my car buying experience but the service, courtesy, professionalism, friendliness and honesty that I experience from Michael was the best and most delightfully efficient experience that I have had in my life. I want to thank both Michael and Theresa for treating li...ke me royalty. A special huge thanks to Michael for his hard work in acquiring financing. I can't think of another dealership that I would ever buy another car from. Wow!!!! Show more
5 rate
Cars.com
Lyle B., Pleasanton, CA 01 Aug 2016
Simplified the process and supported my concerns no matter how trivial or petty.Truly a first class team.
5 rate
Yelp
Brad 09 Jul 2016
Bought car sign unseen from out of state. Vehicle was accurately portrayed. Very responsive. Painless process.
5 rate
Cars.com
Robert Allen N., Oakland, CA 02 Jul 2016
Theresa did a great job for me, in a protracted negotiation (the car was with Phillips on consignment, and the owner was frequently out of the country).  Nevertheless, the deal got done, and everyone at Phillips was very low pressure and professional.  I live in Northern California, and Theresa ar...ranged for someone from Phillips to pick me up at the airport the day I flew down to pick up the car, which was very helpful.This dealership deals just about exclusively in high-end to ultra-high-end cars.  If you're going to buy a car in those categories, do your homework and know what you're buying, and pay for an inspection by a specialist in the car you want to buy, either the brand dealer or a well-respected independent mechanic.  The Phillips people will work with you if any issues are found, I'm sure; they certainly did in my case.  Don't buy a car if you don't understand what you're getting into and what the probable maintenance issues are likely to be.  A frequent problem with a used exotic car which has passed through two or more owners before you buy it, is that the owner(s) after the original buyer didn't understand what they were buying, and when maintenance/repair issues came up, didn't sped the money to keep the car in tip-top shape.  You can't expect Phillips (or any other used car dealer) to have all the brand-specific diagnostic tools that a dealer in that brand and some specialist independent mechanics will have; this is more and more true the newer the car is, due to the ever-increasing sophistication and complication of modern cars' electronic controls.All of this is just a heads-up to the less informed buyer.  I don't think you'll find a better dealer in used high-end cars than Phillips, nor a better, more knowledgeable, and friendly group of people to deal with.  I can't say enough in praise of Theresa, Yul, and the rest of the staff at Phillips. Show more
5 rate
Yelp
J K., Solana Beach, CA 29 Jun 2016
I would like to give a positive update on the incident described below.  Shortly after my dealership visit, the owner (Mr. Philip) and Yul (sales manager) of the dealership, who were NOT present on my first visit, reached out individually to me with sincere apologies and a wish to make the situatio...n right.  They gave me a generous offer, which, had I not already purchased a vehicle, I would have definitely considered.  I am a fan of Yul and Mr. Philip :) Show more
4 rate
Yelp
Darla G., Venice, CA 09 Apr 2016
Sold my car to them. They were easy to work with. They gave me a quote and stuck  They have a great team all easy going and fun to be around. Recommend them highly!
5 rate
Yelp
Rick Williams 09 Apr 2016
I had been looking for my "Bucket List" Porsche for a couple of years and have family and friends who have acquired or sold cars through Phillips for over twenty years. I was busy and traveling, so I must have seemed a little flaky to Theresa initially, but we worked around my schedule and got me co...mfortable with the car and committed to the purchase. The car was perfect, the price fair and the process flawless and efficient. The Phillips Team has always been of the highest integrity, transparency and professionalism. I picked the car up from Michael and we both saw a couple little detail issues and Michael without hesitation offered a fix, ultimately having one of their detail experts come to my home to repair. Perfect! I highly recommend Phillips to all. Thanks Theresa/Michael! Show more
5 rate
Cars.com
Vivek D., Aliso Viejo, CA 06 Apr 2016
I recently bought my M3 from Phillips Auto. It was a much better experience than the last time I dealt with a used car dealer. But they are a used car dealer. Remember that their goal is to sell cars and make money doing that. They are great no-pressure people but do your homework!My experience:I sa...w a car I liked on the Internet at their shop. I drove over after work one day, saw the car on the lot and spent about 10 mins. exploring the outside and underneath of the car as best I could. No one came to bother me, I liked that. When I was done, I walked in the building and met with Michael. He is a nice friendly guy. I told him about my interest in the car and he got the key and we went over to the car. He pulled it out and encouraged me to take it for a spin. We both went for a brief spin. When I got back, we talked more about the car and the price. He said that they bought it from the original owner and sold it to someone in Montana who had it for a couple of years and then bought it back because they knew the car. He also mentioned that the car had just gotten new tires all the way around for $1,200 and the best he could do is take a $1,000 off the advertised price.A few days later, I went back with my wife to test drive the car. I had called ahead and had to reschedule a couple of times due to babysitters cancelling but when we got there, the car had been washed and was on the floor. He pulled out the car, gave me the key, opened the door for my wife and that was it. I really liked the no pressure environment and the genuine friendliness of everyone.My wife liked the car and gave me her blessings, whew! My next step was to get a Pre-Purchase Inspection (PPI) at my mechanics'. This is where things got interesting. I met with Yul and Theresa and asked if I could take it to my mechanic who was 28.5 miles away (according to Google Maps) to make sure he checked the undercarriage and suspension to check for rust damage. Yul said, it shouldn't be a problem but he had to check with the manager. Theresa said, we can't let you go that far, regarding the car being in MT, there is a good chance it was never in MT, they register some cars for customers in MT to avoid sales tax and this could be the case for this one. She was willing to show me the inspection they did on the car before they put it on the lot. When I got there, she did confirm that the car had been in MT for 2 years. I appreciated the inspection details, most things checked out fine, they had changed the battery, serviced the brake system and the tires were listed as repair. She also shared the 'Reconditioning details' sheet which listed the work done and the price paid. I had a question on one of the items and was honestly told that that was the Vehicle Pack (some of their profit baked in). The other item that stood out was that the tires only cost $560, this was in stark contrast to what I was told earlier, it was explained away as they having access to wholesale pricing. I appreciated all the transparency and was close to making a deal. As I headed out, a friend of mine had recommended taking picture of the DOT on the tires (date of manufacture). When I inspected the tires, the fronts where the originals from 2010, they had NOT been replaced, the rears were new. This inconsistency really through me off and I refused to buy the car unless I could have it inspected by my mechanic. They relented and allowed me to take it to get inspected. The car checked out well and my mechanic told me that the front tires were down to the wear bar and on the inside, they were down to the second layer of rubber. The car was not safe to drive and recommended changing them immediately. When I got back to their office, Theresa refused to negotiate the price. She is a business woman through and through.I called again a few days later and spoke with Yul, he agreed to split the cost of the tires (same tires as the rears but in a different size) and alignment. We had a deal.When I went in to sign the paperwork, I dealt with Michael again, he was quick and efficient and we were done in under 30 mins. The front tires were new, but there was no paperwork for the alignment. Turned out that an alignment was never done. Michael said I could drive over to their tire shop and he'd have them do an alignment for me. When I got there, I discovered the fronts were Michelin Pilot Sports and the rears were Michelin Pilot Super Sports. I had insisted on the same compound on all 4 corners. There were some phone calls made and the tire guy swapped out the fronts for PSS's and all was good.Overall:Nice people, courteous and friendly. Low to no pressure. Inconsistencies in the stories did annoy me. Eventually, I was happy with how I was treated and the car I bought. Just remember, you are dealing with Used Car Salesmen, do YOUR homework. Show more
4 rate
Yelp
Scherenberg Family 14 Mar 2016
After searching and searching online, we discovered Phillips Auto having the exact vehicle we were looking for. Our prior searches always lead us to vehicles that had something just not 100% perfect in our eyes. We’ve been looking for a while, so we assumed we would run into the same thing here. A...fter purchasing from Phillips the same day, I can sum up our experience by saying one thing - if you’re looking for the BEST of the BEST when it comes to a vehicle this is the place. The showroom is spotless and has some of the best vehicles around. Yul and Chris were great to work with, helped with financing, my family and I left within hours with our new vehicle. Even after the vehicle was sold and we were well on our way, they followed up to make sure all my questions were answered. Show more
5 rate
Cars.com
Scherenberg Family 14 Mar 2016
After searching and searching online, we discovered Phillips Auto having the exact vehicle we were looking for. Our prior searches always lead us to vehicles that had something just not 100% perfect in our eyes. We?ve been looking for a while, so we assumed we would run into the same thing here. Aft...er purchasing from Phillips the same day, I can sum up our experience by saying one thing - if you?re looking for the BEST of the BEST when it comes to a vehicle this is the place. The showroom is spotless and has some of the best vehicles around. Yul and Chris were great to work with, helped with financing, my family and I left within hours with our new vehicle. Even after the vehicle was sold and we were well on our way, they followed up to make sure all my questions were answered. Show more
5 rate
Cars.com
Questions?
Please speak with our trade advisor for more information.